CeDEM11: Call for Papers

CeDEM11Conference for e-democracy, e-participation and e-voting – brings together e-democracy, e-participation and e-voting specialists working in academia, politics, government and business.

Call for Papers

During the last 10 years, the world has focused on social media and the new forms of societal behaviour, including content generation, collaboration and sharing as well as network organisation. These behaviours and expectations, in particular transparency and access to data, new ways of interacting with government and democratic institutions will continue to develop, and profound changes in society are to be expected. Society has been confronted with “Open Government”, “Open Data” and “Open Access”. What have the experiences been so far? How do these impact society, democratic structures and organisations? What changes occur at citizen level? What are the implications for democracy, society, science and business?

CeDEM11 presents the following tracks, which focus on these changes:

Track: E-participation
Co-chairs: Julia Glidden (21c Consultancy, UK) and Jeremy Millard (Danish Technological Institute, DK)

Track: Open Access and Open Data
Co-chair: Andy Williamson (Hansard Society, UK)

Track: Open Government
Co-chairs: Philipp Müller (University of Salzburg, Business School, AT) and Axel Bruns (Queensland University of Technology, AUS)

Track: E-voting
Co-chairs: Melanie Volkamer (Technical University Darmstadt, GER) and Thad Hall (University of Utah, USA)


Deadline for submissions of papers and workshop proposals is 1 December 2010. Submissions shall be 12 pages maximum.

The conference proceedings will be published with the Edition Danube University; additionally the complete proceedings will be made accessible online. A selection of the best papers of CeDEM11 will be published with the Open Access eJournal of eDemocracy and Open Government (www.jedem.org).


We would like to invite individuals from academic, applied and practitioner backgrounds as well as public authorities, NGO/NPOs, education institutions and independent organisations to submit their research and project papers as well as workshop proposals related to the CeDEM11 Tracks.  We welcome different multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary approaches and disciplines including (but not limited to): law & legal studies, social sciences, computer sciences, political sciences, psychology, sociology, applied computer gaming and simulation, democratic theory, media and communication sciences.

Conference Chairs: Peter Parycek (Danube University Krems, AT), Manuel J. Kripp (E-Voting.CC, AT) and Noella Edelmann (Danube University Krems, AT)



Axel Bruns (Associate Professor, Creative Industries Faculty at Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, AUS)

Stefan Gehrke (CEO, Politik-Digital, Berlin, GER)

Caroline Haythornthwaite (Director, School of Library, Archival and Information Studies, University of British Columbia, CAN)

Elke Löffler (CEO, Governance International, Birmingham, UK)

Doug Schuler (Program Director for the Public Sphere Project; Member of the Faculty at Evergreen State College, Olympia, Washington, USA)


Conference Website: http://www.donau-uni.ac.at/cedem

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s